URI History Department honors students for outstanding academic achievement

Posted on
KINGSTON, R.I. – April 29, 2016 – The History Department in the University of Rhode Island’s College of Arts and Sciences held an award ceremony last week to honor students who have demonstrated excellence in the discipline.

Clay Pell, grandson of the late U.S Sen. Claiborne Pell, attended the ceremony to present the Pell Medal to Jacob Marrocco of Warwick for outstanding achievement in United States history by a senior history major.

“Students have done some outstanding work in history classes over the past year, and our annual awards ceremony is an opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate them and their work, said Rob Widell, associate professor of history. “The study of history is an essential component of any college education, and we are thrilled that Clay Pell was able to join us and affirm his family’s commitment to that idea. We were also thrilled to be able to share the celebration with the families and friends of the award winners,” Widell said.

In addition to Marrocco, the award winners are:

•Alyce Margadonna (Cranston): University Academic Excellence Award in History (Feinstein College of Continuing Education), and Phi Alpha Theta initiate.

•John Kiernan (Scituate): William and Clarice Metz Prize for Outstanding Achievement by a senior history major.

•Andrew Oaklund (North Kingstown): University Academic Excellence Award in History.

•Kristina Canton (Warwick): Margaret Thomas Phi Alpha Theta Award for Outstanding Achievement by a junior history major and Phi Alpha Theta initiate.

The following students were inducted into the Phi Alpha Theta History national honor society.

Kristina Canton of Warwick, Joyce Campbell of Saunderstown, Nick Czabanowski of Warwick, Danielle Friedman of Barrington, Alexandra Goldsmith of Plainview NY, Alyce Margadonna of Cranston, Emily Mulvey of Foster, Lindsey Peterson of Torrington Conn., Samuel Poli of Bethlehem Pa., Shira Raisner of Cranston, Mark Stillson of Warwick, Alea Stokes of Wakefield.

Yvette Littmann of Barrington, Thomas Porter of Chepachet and Alea Stokes of Wakefield were presented Department Book Prizes for Excellence in History.

Pictured above

URI history department award winners from left are: Alyce Margadonna of Cranston, John Kiernan of Scituate, Jacob Marrocco of Warwick, Andrew Oaklund of North Kingstown, Joyce Campbell of Narragansett, Kristina Canton of Warwick and Clay Pell, grandson of the late U.S Sen. Claiborne Pell.

Photo by Timothy George.