Dooley appointed to RI Economic Development Corporation

Posted on
URI President part of newly revamped 13-member board

KINGSTON, R.I. – February 4, 2010 – University of Rhode Island President David M. Dooley will take an active role in improving the state’s economy following his appointment to its Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors by Gov. Donald Carcieri.

Dooley’s appointment marks the first time a URI president has served on the board. Carcieri, who announced his appointees on Jan. 27, tapped Dooley for a three-year term that runs through Feb. 1, 2013.

In 2009, Carcieri signed into law major changes to the board, expanding it from nine members to 13, including one member of higher education.

“The appointment of this board marks the final piece in our year long effort to revitalize the Economic Development Corporation,” Carcieri said in announcing the appointments. “With an expanded and more focused board, a seasoned economic development professional leading the agency, and a clear strategic plan to move our economic development efforts forward, the tools are in place to improve the EDC, be more responsive to our existing businesses, support the growth of new industries, and improve our economic climate.”

Dooley’s economic development experience while at Montana State University will prove an asset. While in Montana, he played a key role in creating partnerships between the school and private companies.

Joining Dooley on the board are URI alumnus Alfred J. Verrecchia (’67, ’72), vice chairman (chairman, Hasbro Inc.); Stephen Lane (co-founder and CEO, Item Group, Providence); and Karl Wadensten (president, VIBCO, Richmond), who all will serve four-year terms. Serving three-year terms will be Dooley, J.L. “Lynn” Singleton (president, Providence Performing Arts Center); and Cheryl Watkins Snead (president and CEO, Banneker Industries, North Smithfield).

Two-year term members of the board are Timothy Babineau (president and CEO, Rhode Island Hospital and The Miriam Hospital); George Nee (president, Rhode Island AFL-CIO); and Dan Sullivan, Jr. (president and CEO, Collette Vacations, Inc., Pawtucket). Paul J. Choquette Jr. (vice chairman, Gilbane Inc.); Donna C. Cupelo (regional president, New England Verizon Communications); and Shivan Subramaniam (chairman and CEO, FM Global, Johnston;) will serve one year each.